Sports Teams

College Teams



Roller Derby




Major professional teams

The first professional team to play in Seattle was the PCHA Seattle Metropolitans , which played in the Seattle Ice Arena between 1915 and 1924. The NHL has proposed relocating or expanding to Seattle.

In 1967, the NBA ‘s Seattle SuperSonics (more commonly known as the “Sonics”) became the first modern-day major professional sports franchise in Seattle. However, in 2008, the Sonics’ ownership group moved the team to Oklahoma City . Two years after the Sonics arrived in Seattle, the Major League Baseball Seattle Pilots were established, but only played one year in Seattle before moving to Milwaukee, Wisconsin . The Pilots’ sole season was immortalized in Jim Bouton ‘s book Ball Four . It wasn’t until 1976 that Seattle got another professional sports team, in the form of the NFL’s Seattle Seahawks . One year after that and following years of legal wrangling over the move of the Pilots, the MLB awarded Seattle a new baseball franchise, the Seattle Mariners . From 1978 to 1985, all three teams played in the Kingdome , with the Seahawks and Mariners continuing to play in the Kingdome until it was imploded in 2000. The final professional team to arrive in Seattle was the WNBA ‘s Seattle Storm in 2000. The Storm currently play in KeyArena , the Seahawks in CenturyLink Field , and Mariners in Safeco Field .

Soccer in Seattle has always involved the Seattle Sounders, whose original incarnation played in the defunct NASL in the 1970s through to its demise in 1983. The name lived on in a second incarnation of the team, which played in the second level of US soccer from 1994 through 2008. In November 2007, Major League Soccer announced that Seattle would host the league’s fifteenth franchise to start play in 2009. The team held a vote among its fan for the team’s name between March 27 and March 31, 2008 and Seattle Sounders FC was chosen. The current version of the Sounders plays at CenturyLink Field.


The city’s first professional sports championship was brought to the city by the Seattle Metropolitans in 1917, when they became the first American team to win the coveted Stanley Cup by beating the Montréal Canadiens three games to one. They returned to the Stanley Cup finals twice more. Their first return, again versus Montreal, was in 1919; that series was cancelled due to an outbreak of influenza with the two teams tied at 2–2–1. The Metropolitans last went to the Stanley Cup finals in 1920, when they lost to the Ottawa Senators .

Led by Lenny Wilkens , the SuperSonics made it to the NBA Finals for two consecutive years in the late 1970s. In 1978 they lost to the Washington Bullets in seven games, but rebounded in 1979 to defeat the Bullets four games to one in to win the NBA Championship. The next time the Sonics made it to Finals was in 1996 when they met Chicago Bulls , to whom they lost in six games.

Another basketball championship trophy arrived in 2004 , when the Seattle Storm defeated the Connecticut Sun two games to one to win the WNBA championship.

In 2006, the Seahawks won the NFC Championship , only to be defeated by the Pittsburgh Steelers in Super Bowl XL .

The Seattle Mariners have won the American League West Pennant three times, in 1995, 1997, and most recently in 2001, after a record 116-win season. They, however, have not won an American League Championship or a World Series Championship.

The current Sounders won the Lamar Hunt U.S. Open Cup in the team’s inaugural season of 2009 . The Seattle Sounders FC won the Lamar Hunt U.S. Open Cup again in 2010 becoming the first MLS team to have back-to-back U.S. Open Cup Titles.

The Seattle Storm won their second WNBA title in 2010 , beating the Atlanta Dream in 3 games.

The city of Seattle has a total of 6 championships, one Stanley Cup , one NBA Championship, two WNBA championships and two U.S. Open Cup Championships.

Other professional teams

The Seattle Thunderbirds are a Major Junior league ice hockey team that plays at the ShoWare Center . The Thunderbirds arrived in Seattle in 1977 as the Seattle Breakers before changing to their current name in 1985. They play in the Western Hockey League , one of three components of the Canadian Hockey League , traditionally a major feeder system for the NHL . In 1976, Seattle was awarded a conditional NHL franchise, however the deal did not come to fruition.

Originally arriving in 1974, the men’s soccer team Seattle Sounders played in Seattle until 1983 when the North American Soccer League collapsed due to overexpansion. The Seattle Sounders were brought back in 1994 and played in the USL First Division in Qwest Field . Six years later the men’s team was joined by a women’s team of the same name (now known as the Seattle Sounder Angels) which actually plays in a nearby suburb, Tukwila . In 2008 the USL incarnation of the Sounders played its last season, and in 2009 Seattle Sounders FC began playing in MLS , America’s top soccer division.

World renowned kickboxer and MMA fighter Maurice Smith founded and coaches the Seattle Tiger Sharks , who compete in the International Fight League . As of September 2006, the team’s score was 9-11.


The Seattle Sounders (USL) won the A-League championship 1995 and 1996 and the US First Division championship in 2005 and 2007.

The Seattle Thunderbirds were the Western Hockey League champions in 1997.

The Seattle SeaDogs defeated the Houston Hotshots two games to 0 for the CISL championship in 1997.

The Washington Stealth defeated the Toronto Rock 15-11 for the Champion’s Cup in 2010.

The Seattle Sockeye won the USA Ultimate Club Championships in 2004, 2006 and 2007. They also won Seattle the gold medal at the World Ultimate Club Championships (WUCC) in 1997 (Vancouver, BC). They also won the silver at the World Ultimate Games (WUGC) in 2008 (Vancouver, BC) and at WUCC in 2010 (Prague, Czech Republic).


Current Rates and Availability >>